top of page

Obligatory First Post

Updated: Jun 14



This is my attempt at a blog is written on a graph paper background.  Snippets of different cross stitched projects fill the corners, a trans pride moth, some flying bats, a sun and moon, and some dangling stars.

Hello, stitcher friends!


This is my obligatory first post on a blog that I may or may not be able to keep up with.  I have this habit of writing epic walls of text in my head, while no where near a computer, so this is my attempt to get down some of my thoughts about cross stitching, designing, and our amazing community.  Who am I?  I'm Amanda!  My pronouns are she/her, and I've been seriously designing since 2019-ish.  I started cross stitching in 2012, after getting married. I DIY'd everything back then, Pinterest peer-pressured me to make and design everything for my wedding.  After the wedding, I had no idea what to do with my hands, and I stumbled upon Steotch and Subversive Cross Stitch, and my mind was blown.


I'm a self-taught stitcher, and had the same hiccups as everyone else.  I didn't know how to find the center of my fabric, I used 6 strands of floss, and I lost so many needles before getting my first needleminder.  I'm going to be honest, I still don't know how to pronounce AIDA. I say it "aye-dah."  But I love the serotonin that comes from stitching.  I love pixel art.  I love mashing these things together to make my own creations.

I'm the most extroverted introvert you'll ever meet.  I recognize that sometimes things won't get done the right way unless I do them, so that was one of my inspirations in creating a local stitching club in Austin, Texas called Austitch. This club really helped me build up my ability to manage communities and charity events.  If you're in the central Texas area, I hope you check them out! I have high hopes for this space.  Social media algorithms are destroying small businesses and as a GenX person, I know when it's time to adapt. I'm a normal person. I don't make websites, I'm not a graphic designer, and each time I have to google how to add bits to my blog, it takes me away from designing.  This blog likely won't be as pretty as others, so I hope you're ok with that. Stuff I want to talk about in this blog:

  • Cross stitch.  My patterns, other designer's patterns, notions, fabric dyeing, my favorite stitchy things, etc.

  • Being a designer. What that entails.

  • Articles about my favorite stitching things, interviews with different designers, local needlework shops

  • Modern issues impacting the stitching community.

I hope you stick around.  Bookmark me, hit that Subscribe button, tell your friends, write me a comment about what you want to read about! If you like what I do, I'd love some validation! Drop your email here to subscribe to blog updates! Happy stitching, Amanda

107 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Anne
Anne
Jun 06

Woohoo! I miss blogging, it seems there might be a resurgance with all of the social media garbage going on. I'm here for it! I used to blog regularly, then tried a weekly newsletter that was great until I burned out. Maybe it's time to try my own hand at blogging again...



Like

Hi!

Welcome to my blog!
Hi, I'm Amanda (she/her) and I am the designer behind BAD Stitch. I'll be using this space to talk about fiber arts, especially cross stitch, from the perspective of a designer.

bottom of page