top of page

Interview with The Witchy Stitcher

Updated: Jun 14

Who doesn't know who Meg Black is of The Witchy Stitcher? If you stitch modern or spooky designs, you've definitely seen her masterpieces everywhere on the internet, in magazines, and in local needlework shops.

I've been a massive fan of Meg for a million years. Her designs are so fresh and spark joy in my little gothic heart. We have collaborated on a couple projects together for charity, and been included in the same mystery stitching subscription boxes. I like to think I'm cool by association! So when Meg agreed to an interview, the fangirl in me resurfaced and I did everything in my power to not look like a dork during our chatting session. Let's dig in!

(A = Amanda and M = Meg)

Click on the images to find the pattern

A: How would you explain your design aesthetic in 5 words? 

M: Spooky scary cute and fun! A: You're one of the most well-known modern designers and I feel like your climb to notoriety came pretty quickly.  How was the initial growth spurt for you and the family? M: I worked myself into a nervous breakdown and didn’t take a day off for almost 3 years. Hahahaha


A: Things are better now, right? No more nervous breakdowns? M: Hahaha yeah that was a hard lesson learned. I still tend to overwork but I do give myself more workable deadlines and am learning to say no. 

To answer the question better. The growth spurt was exciting! After many trials into countless endeavors I had always wanted something that was creative and my own. My family just sort of went “of course” and fully supported me from the beginning. I even quit my “real” job 6 months in and put my head down and worked myself to the bone. Having a background in art, marketing and such helped! Is that a better answer? Lol

 

A: Haha yes! Inquiring minds want to know all this stuff!

M: I don’t want to sugar coat that it was easy and give up and comers false hope ya know?  You gotta grind.

A: What are your favorite things to design?  And do you ever design for yourself?

M: I always design for myself now. In the beginning I would try to think of what “people wanted.” And those designs would often flop or I wouldn’t release them because I wasn’t excited about them. I think that’s why I still love what I do, and maybe even people can sense that through my art. That is my hope anyways. My favourite things to design are anything that uses lots of black and lace-like and ornate swirls and accents. And making mini anything! Good examples of this are my sals. Making mini cryptids or horror creatures is challenging but so much fun for me.


A: My next question was going to be "As a designer, what do you find appeals more to your stitcher community?" but you know how good you are, and you have every right to toot your own horn. Do you have any patterns you feel "flopped" per your expectations?

M: I’m often surprised at which patterns perform really well or go semi viral. There has been a few times I think a pattern will just sort of glide through and it explodes. I can sometimes call it and know it’s going be a big one, but more often than not I’m surprised.


A good example of this is the recent Nostalgic Tarot cards, I had made two cards as a fun little joke pattern after a Patreon poll. And now I’m 5 cards into a 22 card set. There have been flops! And there always will be. But they don’t bother me, there is always at least one person out there who loves it and that’s enough for me. 

A: People are going bonkers over your Tarot patterns! After your Ouija and planchettes, you hit a whole demographic of nostalgic stitchers!

M: Apparently! I just really wanted to make a gothy Lisa frank vibe pattern. Little did I know it was going to take off like it did. My 310 still weeps. I can hear her cry during the night.

A: Speaking of 310... You're gonna love this question.... How much DMC 310 do you think you've really used?

M: Ok you’re not going to believe this. But I keep count. Between my own stitching and making kits etc.


13 - 500g Cone of Dooms

3 - 100g Baby Cone of Dooms

2,172 skeins (362 DMC boxes)

 

A: NO WAY.  I'm shaking that's so much black.

M: I only count 310 use. 😂


A: Oh I've got a good one for you. How similar is your first draft of a pattern to your final draft?

M: Depends on the day.


I usually start with a pretty good visual of how I want it to look, either in my head or sketched out. Usually the result is pretty close to my initial idea, but other times it can be a world away. Working with pixels can be tricky and things can be difficult to translate into pixels. Instead of forcing it I’ll usually just change direction. I’ve always viewed my patterns are sort of a moth life cycle. It was always there, it just needed some time to morph into its final form. Trust the process and save multiple versions in case you change your mind.


A: Right? I have so many files just of different versions of patterns. It starts to take up a lot of disk space.


M: Yeppp but it’s the way to do it for sure. I like to look back at old ideas for new ideas. Or I will try something and it doesn’t work for that pattern but does for another!

 

A: Has Stephen King ever seen any of your designs?

M: Yes! He commented on Twitter or X or whatever it is. He was excited to see his house incorporated into the design. I also did gain permission for it. But that was likely from his team not SK himself.

 

A: This is one that a gabillion people probably want to know the answer to.... Any advice for aspiring designers?

M: You gotta work for it. No sugar coating things here. Finding your place with your own business is a tough climb but persist. Treat it as a real job and put in the hours to match it! But more importantly, you need to love what you make. Of course it is important to think of your audience, but infuse yourself in your work. Your uniqueness and style is what sets you apart from others. Don’t try to copy or be someone else, find your stride and your own niche!

Is that too preachy? Lol I don’t want to come off as a pompous asshole. But I often see new designers complain but I don’t see them putting in the work or they are making new versions of something that already exists 100 times over.


A: There's a lot of copycats out there, too. You got any funny stories about them?

M: I do have a funny one! It is related to these hands. They were copied by someone and their response was. “You don’t own bloody hands, you can’t copyright hands” They copied them pixel for pixel.


A: These people, geez. It's as if people forgot Reverse Image search exists. 

M: I laughed so hard. And was like ok interesting response to theft.


A: I don't know about you, but I hate when people say, "This shows you made it!" after someone blatantly steals your art like this.

M: The absolute worst thing to say ever. In the same pool as “everything happens for a reason.” WRONG


A: What spooky movies / books and games do you suggest for our summer stitchers?

M:Well I highly recommend everyone who can goes to see the Ghost movie “Rite Here Rite Now” but that’s just because it’s going to be the highlight of my summer I’m sure. I’m a huge Ghost fan. Other than that my favourite series are You, Yellowjackets, Hannibal, Fallout and The Witcher. For games I’m a big Dead by Daylight girlie. Come survive the Fog with me!

It’s such a fun and silly little horror game. 


I haven’t read many books lately. Lots of podcasts while I work though! Some recent ones I enjoyed are Nobody Should Believe Me and There’s Something About Pam.

  

 A: People want to support you!  What's your preferred way that people engage and support you?M: However folks want and are comfortable with! Likes, comments and shares always do wonders for a small business and are much appreciated. But if I had to pick one I would say Patreon, I am really enjoying the platform and it feels like a special dedicated space. Folks can join for the equivalent of a Starbucks coffee a month, so it’s more affordable than buying a pattern a month! However you choose to support me is greatly appreciated. It’s not lost on me and I’m grateful for every sprinkle of waterfall or love sent my way.


Many thanks to Meg for being so accommodating and allowing me to pick her brain. She's continuously provided quality patterns and support for the cross stitch community! You can find all of her links here.


Did you learn anything new about The Witchy Stitcher? What are you favorite designs in her catalog? If you like what I do, feel free to subscribe for blog updates! I love validation! Click me to submit your email address.






401 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

5 comentários


Convidado:
14 de jun.

This was such a cute post and boy is that a lot of 310 😂. You are both amazing 💕 - Emory

Curtir

Convidado:
13 de jun.

What a great guest for your first interview! Way to go! I'm so happy your doing things you enjoy! ~ DemonLasciel

Curtir

Convidado:
13 de jun.

Two amazing designers in one blog post!!! Thank you!♥️

Curtir

Cassidy
Cassidy
13 de jun.

Awesome & interesting post/interview!! My fav patterns are the goth & witchy ones for sure, my black little heart!

Editado
Curtir

Mieke Nielson
13 de jun.

Yay! I love Meg! I can vouch that her patreon is really cool, and the discord that goes along with it is such a great community.

Curtir

Hi!

Welcome to my blog!
Hi, I'm Amanda (she/her) and I am the designer behind BAD Stitch. I'll be using this space to talk about fiber arts, especially cross stitch, from the perspective of a designer.

bottom of page