top of page

Interview with NeedleLot Designs

I'm so excited to share this designer with you, Iris of NeedleLot Designs.  Iris is a Dutch stitcher and designer who has color-blasted her way into the design industry.  Her designs are easily recognizable and so lush!  Her use of colors with art-nouveau elements, all within the DMC palette, is unlike any other out there and I hope you enjoy this interview where we sit down and dig into everything NeedleLot! On a personal note, when Iris jumped into the cross stitch world, my jaw dropped with how beautiful and unique her designs are. Her artistry has inspired me to really step up my game with my own designs.

 A =  Amanda           I =  Iris

(Click on the images to find these patterns) 


A:  Let's talk about your stitching journey! How did get you get started with fiber arts and designing?

I:  I guess I'd first have to talk a bit about my development as an artist, haha! Without going too far back, I have to say I always loved painting and drawing as a child, but that hobby completely died in my teenage years. Then after a failed attempt at studying law, I tried to get into art school and was denied (lol), but it did rekindle my passion for the arts. I continued studying art history and architectural history, and having played around with regular embroidery and cross stitch - first patterns I ever did were some by Satsuma Street, which I love still - I tried my hand at designing my own patterns. And I feel that I've since come a long way! You should see some of the earliest designs I did, they were absolutely huge and confetti hell.


A hooped cross stitch on mottled pink fabric, featuring two koi swirling about each other with lilypads, bubbles, and florals.  The koi are each distinct, one in orange hues with black spots and the other is in bluish white, with orange fins and black spots.

 A:  Ok, this is a hard one. How would you describe your design aesthetic in 5 words?

I:   Hmmm. Well I've always thought of them as quirky first and foremost, so that definitely goes on the list. Regarding color use I would say maybe bold, since I like color combos that are a bit out of the ordinary. Atmosphere-wise my patterns are often nature-inspired (I guess that's two words lol), and mostly cheerful. And the last word I'd choose is distinct, because I love clean lines and easily distinguishable elements

 

A:  Your designs are so eye-catching and have such lovely colors.  What kind of sorcery is this?

I:  If you were in a room with me while I'm picking colors you'd probably think I'm mad. I have extensive monologues in my head about shades, undertones etc. It gets a bit obsessive. But the end result is worthwhile.

 

A:  No great mind has ever existed without a touch of madness, right?


A cross stitch pattern in the style of art nouveau.  A majestic fox sits, looking to the side, surrounded by art nouveau elements and foliage.

A:  What is your favorite animal?

I:  This is strange, since I've never done a pattern of one. But I adore pangolins. They're so funny and sweet looking. And they seem slightly nervous in every picture, with the way they hold their little hands together. Maybe I identify with them.

A:   But I feel like they're softies on the inside. Is that why you also relate to them?

I:   I can definitely be a big ball of anxiety. But when I'm in my element, I think I'm quite outspoken. Especially when it comes to looking out for others, I don't shy away.

 

A:  This is just so foreign and also extremely interesting to me based on what I know about you from your online presence. Putting yourself and your art out there into the world, especially patterns like yours, which take a significant time investment, is BRAVE AF. I'm not trying to puff you up, but you really come across as confident. You're like HERE. HERE IS A MAJESTIC TRASH PANDA, and the community goes bonkers for them.

I:   I appreciate that. I guess when it comes to art, as opposed to some other areas in my life, I AM confident. I feel comfortable expressing myself through art, whereas if you put me in front of a classroom - conveniently my day job - I can definitely come across as unsure.


A cross stitch of a raccoon wearing a cape and starry wizard hat, stirring a trashcan with a long stick.  Magical bits are wafting from the trashcan and a black garbage bag with a crescent moon on it lies nearby.

A:   Now this is even harder… Which of your current patterns is your absolute favorite?

I:   I think I love my Art Nouveau Owl most. It's somewhat larger than some of my other patterns, and I personally like the larger ones because of all the detail I can cram in there. I started with designing the owl itself and I just KNEW. Sometimes you get that feeling. 

Although I also have another design coming out very soon, it's a badger. And I think that might be a very close second!


A cross stitch of a white barn owl, flying with wings extended.  An ornate art nouveau-style window is behind the owl, with foliage details.  A bright blue full moon glows from behind the owl.

A:   How similar is your first draft of a pattern to your final draft?

I:   The difference is absolutely WILD. I always take pictures of my early process versions of animals and they're hilarious. Like a big blob with a single black dot for an eye. Or something with really messed up anatomy. The early design stages are also most nerve wrecking, because you have to be honest with yourself about whether something is salvageable or not. Often I do try to continue though, even if it is out of spite lol. 

I enjoy the stage where I get to add all the little details most. I feel like that's where I shine.


A comparison photo. On the left is a blobby pixel art frog.  On the right is a completed cross stitch of a detailed frog, sitting on a skull in a bog, in front of a gravestone.

A:  You live in the Netherlands, right? What's the stitching scene like there? 

I:   I do! The stitching scene is very much alive here, though it's nowhere near as big as in some other countries. I feel like it's a tight-knit community where everybody knows everybody. I'm very grateful for some talented Dutch stitchers I know because they help me test-stitch stuff! I could never do all that myself, even though I'd love to.

A:  I'm so jealous! I guess I'm moving to the Netherlands.

 

A:  Do you ever get to stitch for yourself?  Who are your favorite designers?

I:   I don't stitch for myself a ton because of how busy I am with my own designs. But I absolutely adore designs by some of the awesome designers in the community, like Flossy Fox Shop, Fine Frog Stitching, Urban Stitches etc. There are too many to name!

 

A:   Any advice for aspiring designers?

I:   I would recommend anyone who wants to design to just get started. Don't get too lost on techniques or pre-planning your style. All of that will come naturally. In addition, I feel like experimentation is the single most important thing for a designer. If I hadn't tinkered with my designs the way I have, I would be nowhere. And if you think a certain color is a bit too crazy for a design, it's probably not.

 

A:  Any hints what's next for NeedleLot Designs?

I:   I definitely want to do my first SAL soon, although admin stuff is not one of my strong suits.  I have a solid idea for it though. Just gotta get those creative juices flowing!

A:   I think you'll break the internet when that happens!


A gorgeous cross stitch of a resting tiger with her back to us.  Her body colorings and stripes are a gradient of deep oranges and blues.  There are many details, like hanging vines, florals, and a butterly sampler band at the bottom.

A:  People want to support you! What's the best way to do that?

I:   I'm trying to move away from Etsy slowly, because it has many disadvantages. A great way to support me is on Ko-fi. I have a monthly animal pattern series, Flossy Fellows, that people can subscribe to. It's is a great way for me to gain more stability! For those not interested in monthly patterns, purchasing through my website would be best.


Thank you so much to Iris for taking the time to chat with me!

Website: https://www.needlelotdesigns.com/ Ko-fi (#FlossyFellows subscription): https://ko-fi.com/needlelotdesigns

What is your favorite NeedleLot Design? Have you stitched any?



175 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


"What kind of sorcery is this?" is basically what goes through my mind every time I look at any of her designs!

Like

Hi!

Welcome to my blog!
Hi, I'm Amanda (she/her) and I am the designer behind BAD Stitch. I'll be using this space to talk about fiber arts, especially cross stitch, from the perspective of a designer.

bottom of page